The UCDD contracted with the Tennessee Department of Transportation to establish two Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs) in the Upper Cumberland region.

The Center Hill RPO includes Cannon, Cumberland, DeKalb, Putnam, Van Buren, Warren and White counties.

The Dale Hollow RPO includes Clay, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett and Smith counties.

The organizations’ purpose is to facilitate input from rural counties to TDOT for transportation planning. RPOs work with TDOT to identify the Upper Cumberland region’s needs regarding highways, transit, bike/pedestrian issues, aviation and waterways. RPOs are partners with Tennessee’s development districts because economic and community development drives many of the transportation improvements in rural counties.


Virginia Alexander, Center Hill RPO Coordinator

P: 931.476.4118  E:


Mark Dudney, Dale Hollow RPO Coordinator

P: 931.476.4152  E: